Ponderings

   This is my first venture into the world of blogging. It was because of my friend’s suggestion that I decided to try it. I don’t know much about blogging. I have visited a few blogs and now, I have some idea about it. I think blogging can be a very effective medium to express people’s views on various topics, in short a new medium of expression. And it is exactly that for me. I didn’t really know what I should write about, but for now, I just intend to express my opinions on whatever topics that come to my mind.

 

  I was not very sure about what to write. But I guess I will write about writing… J

I love writing and I write a lot, especially when my emotions demand me to. From long back, I have developed the habit of writing. I feel that I have been able to express myself best through my writings. So whenever I am happy or sad or overwhelmed, I like to write because it helps me express my feelings and bring it out in the way I want to. I used to write a lot of poems. Due to lack of time, I haven’t been able to write many poems now. But still, I have the habit of writing diary regularly and I do find out the time to write down some poems when I feel like it.

I think that to be a good writer one should possess wild and wide imagination. One should be able to put oneself in others’ shoes and imagine about different situations in different perspectives. I firmly believe that imagination is an essential requirement for a writer. Apart from that, I believe that imagination can help one in life to a great extent. My Physics teacher used to say that “Imagination is better than knowledge” and I think it is rightly so.

 Recently, my English teacher was talking about contemporary literature. She said that today’s literature is written in such a way so that people don’t understand anything. I was so surprised by what she said. Because I think people write to express themselves and their views. Why would you write, in the first place, if you didn’t want people to understand you? I was against her statement at that time. But later, as we progressed into the lessons, I found that she was right in what she said. The stories lacked lucidity and it seemed like the author himself did not know what he meant. The stories could be interpreted from various angles but however you interpret it there still seemed to be some unanswered questions.

I can’t understand why it has to be so complicated. If they don’t want normal people to understand what they mean, why do they write? Why don’t they want people to understand? What satisfaction do they get from writing something which no one will be able to understand?

 If this is the way contemporary literature is, then I think it definitely needs a change. Writing is one of the powerful media that can reach out to ordinary people. It should be a voice of the people, and should represent them. It should be a part of their lives. And it can be so only if it has something which normal people can relate to.

As for me, when I write I try to use words that are simple yet can bring out what I am feeling in the right way. I try my best to bring out my feelings and what I intend to say in my writings. It gives me a lot of satisfaction if I feel that I have been successful in expressing myself properly. When my teacher first told about modern literature in class, I felt pained at the mere idea of it. But anyhow, I never lose hope until the last moment. So I guess we can still hope for a better change in the way things are right now.

 

2 thoughts on “Ponderings

  1. Pingback: The Journey So Far… « Roshrulez's Weblog

Voice your opinion :)

