The Futility of Current Affairs

  I have been frequently asked by friends to update myself and write something about curent affairs, politics and stuff instead of my personal thoughts and opinions. Well, I have seriously thought about it. To be honest, I am not the kind of person who stays up to date about the current affairs and all that happens in the world. I might know about some of the major happenings but if you ask me in detail about it, I will be completely blank!

  I was just thinking… what I would write about the current affairs as I know it. After a lot of thinking, I realized something. To be very honest, I think talking about it is completely useless. The current affairs that is so talked about today will most probably be quite the same as yesterday and will not be very different from that of tomorrow. It’s always the same old stuff – a fight here, a riot there, a rebellion over there, bombings in some part, accidents, wars, crises, so on. Always the same kind of news, mostly.

 And its so completely useless! It’s all so maddening. So many atrocities, cruelty… by one man to another. Such a lot of wars, all because of man’s greed and foolishness. I find it maddening to sit and watch or listen to all this… I feel no pleasure, relaxation or peace seeing the suffering of people in some part of this world, witnessing the inhuman behvaiour of some people in some other parts…knowing that all this is being done by individuals from the same race as you and me.

  Whenever there is a tragic incident, there is a lot of hype about it. People seem to have nothing else to talk about. They keep talking about the incident, sympathizing or feeling pity on those who lost their loved ones. What good does it do to those families who have lost? Do people ever care to give a thought to it after the issue has died down? I doubt it. We feel pity, talk about it and finally go back to our own lives. So, basically, what use comes from all this? We will find another issue tomorrow to ponder over. Though the places and people may change, the basic essence of all these ‘current affairs’ remain the same.

   What is, ultimately, the great use in knowing all these? It’s all the same… mostly evolving because of man. It’s nothing but a mere waste of time! It’s of no use… be it either to me or to others. It will only destroy one’s peace of mind and happiness. If it will be of some use, however small it maybe, to the people who are suffering in this world, then I will definitely change my opinion and try to keep myself updated about the latest current affairs and stuff.

Voice your opinion :)

