Realizations formed out of Hardships

TADAAAA!!!! I’m back. And I can’t explain how happy I’m!!! 🙂 I actually felt relieved thinking of college reopening…not because I’m eager to sit in the boring classes but because I can get back to what I love the most – blogging! I know I sound obsessed. I am, to be frank! As expected, I have lots to blabber about. I just can’t wait to get started.

This Christmas, as feared, was the worst I have had until now. And the worst I will ever have, I hope. Before I go into that, I want to share a compliment I received from one of my teachers. He is a lot more than a teacher for me; he is more like a fatherly figure…someone who understands me a lot. Recently, when I spoke to him, he told me that he had gone through my blog, read a few posts and that he loved it. He has always encouraged me and urged me to write more. So, he was really happy to see that I’m writing with the same vigour as before. He said that I have matured in my thoughts and perceptions, which clearly echoed in my writing. One thing he pointed out to me was that even though I wrote about some negative experiences, I always brought it out in a positive way; maybe in the way it is presented, maybe in the way I see it, so on. It was something I hadn’t noticed but when he said it out loud, I realized that he was right. My writing reflects positive vibes, even when the matter maybe negative. I think that is great, because I’m a person who gives a hell lot of importance to being and thinking positive. Wow! You rock, Rosh! 😛

About the Christmas tragedy, thanks to the uncle and aunt here who cannot seem to say a word without sounding rude, I have been depressed since the moment I stepped into that house. And believe it or not, I actually cried on Christmas day, of all days, because I could not stand it anymore! That’s as bad as they can get! Anyway, while talking about this with the teacher, he consoled me and said that I will be able to find something positive from these experiences…that I will be able to reach out to others in the same situation when I write about it. As expected, it has turned out to be true.

On Christmas day, I went to a relative’s place in the evening…actually, I went to a couple of families. And all of them were so warm, loving and really sweet. I could see that they were genuinely happy to have me there, that they cared. After all the disturbing episodes, this realization was so much like a contrast…but one that I loved! I understood that I have a family (relatives, that is)…one that loves me and cares for me, even though a select few may behave otherwise. I realized that just because of those few, I should not think everyone else will be like them. I’m lucky to have so many people who love me, even though they may not really know me. Isn’t that more important than all the negative experiences I went through?

All of us want happiness and good experiences. Nobody would ever wish for a bad one. But we tend to forget that the bad experiences are the ones that pave the way to happiness…they help us understand what happiness is. I’m not saying you should start wishing for something bad to happen. All I’m saying is: next time something unhappy occurs, try not to be too blinded by depression; keep your eyes open to the joy that is about to come your way. Know that every tear you shed is ultimately meant to symbolize the times you will laugh later on…soon enough. Sometimes, you might wonder how some people can be so strong in the face of trouble. Now, you know how. They just have to welcome the stark reality that bad times are like a ‘prelude’ to happiness! 🙂

This is taken from the book P.S I Love You by Cecelia Ahern (a beautiful book that I would always love to read again and again). A very beautiful line. I felt it so wonderfully brings out what I’m trying to say.

“Nobody’s life is filled with perfect little moments. And if it were they wouldn’t be perfect little moments. They would just be normal. How would you know happiness if you never experienced downs?” 

 

Voice your opinion :)

