(An Attempt at) Figuring Out the Purpose of Life :D

I always come up with these awesome titles which sound very profound and serious. But after I read what I wrote, I realize the content is not all that contemplative. Somehow, I don’t think I will ever come up with something that is purely serious, devoid of my usual nonsense. Hell! No! That wouldn’t be me, would it? So, this time, it’s no different. I can only hope that it makes some sense to you. 🙂

I wrote this down in a notebook, to be typed out later. And while I wrote this, I was sitting in class. We have this really sweet teacher who lets us sleep in his class. He does not compel us to listen (or even to pretend that we are listening). As long as we don’t disturb others, he is fine with what we do. I adore him for this reason. I wish all the other teachers would adopt the same attitude. 😀

Yesterday, I was talking to a friend of mine. He is a very carefree person. I haven’t known him for long, but until now, I have never seen him being serious…(not the solemn-no-smiling kind of serious…serious meaning just a little no-nonsense kind of talk). Maybe he does get all solemn and stuff when he really has to be, but I have never had the opportunity to witness that. So, as far as I know, he is a very funny, carefree, easy-going kind of guy who is fun to be with. He is always joking around, doing what he wants to do…basically, enjoying life (I’m tired of describing…you get the picture, right?). I asked him a certain question that has been on my mind for the past 6 years or so. When I look around, almost everyone seems to be leading the same pattern of life. Go to school (study, study, study), go to college (study, study, study), get a job, get married, have kids, raise them, lead them through the same phases of school-college-job-marriage-kids…and finally, you die. My question is: So, what is the ultimate purpose of life? What are we living for? Why are all of us following the same pattern of life? Why doesn’t anyone want to do something different?

I know even I am following the very same pattern as millions of others. But I want to break out of it, now that I have realized it. I want to do a lot more in life…and I want to understand the purpose of my life. I asked this question to my friend, last day. As always, he made a joke out of it, saying a lot of nonsense (like telling me that I didn’t have to brush everyday, if that’s what I meant by the ‘same pattern’). After a round of joking, I asked him to give me a serious reply. Again, he did joke around but amidst all that, he said something very true, that almost qualifies as an answer. It was a little astray from the true meaning of my question but I loved his reply. What he said was: ‘Everyone wants to be happy. People have different perceptions of happiness, different ways of finding it. They do what they want (or should) to achieve this happiness. They follow whatever path they think will lead them to it.’ In other words, what he meant to say is that people are always in search of happiness, and maybe, that (the search, the ways of finding it, so on) is the ultimate purpose of life.

I don’t know if that is an exact answer to my question but, I admit, it is closer than any other answer I have got till date. I believe that each one of us has a purpose in life…something we are meant to do or achieve, however small it maybe. It will take time to realize what it is. But be assured, someday, it will dawn on you (of course, if you are not bothered, never mind). Until that moment of revelation, I suppose it’s just about

Photography by Martin Vincent

finding happiness in our own distinct ways. Though, I wouldn’t say life is a journey towards happiness. It is a journey of happiness…a journey in which we encounter so many junctures of joy. Ultimately, if you can say, with complete certainty, that you are happy with life and are doing what you want to, then that’s what counts! 🙂 Hope you find the happiness you are looking for, at every point in this journey.

5 thoughts on “(An Attempt at) Figuring Out the Purpose of Life :D

  1. This has been very thought-provoking, I think there is a lot of truth in what your friend said, happiness seems to me the ultimate and only goal humans have in their journey through life. That being said, I think that my moment of revelation is still ahead of me and in a year or two’s time my opinion may be different. Just take everything as it comes and enjoy it while it lasts.

  2. the journey of happiness..i only wish more people would take time to think about this simple truth in life..my favorite entry so far, keep it up gal.

Voice your opinion :)

