Off to the Land of Dreams… :)

I have always been fascinated by dreams, be it the ones we see in sleep or the ones we think up and want to fulfill. Maybe because the whole phenomenon of dreaming is uniquely characteristic of human beings. I’m a person who loves dreaming. Give me 5 minutes and I will be lost in my own Neverland. Being someone who dreams such a hell lot, I was really disturbed when I came here (to college) and found that I was losing touch with my dreams. I just could not dream like I used to. I had no idea why. Anyhow, I did get through that phase…and now, I’m beginning to dream again.

Have you ever taken the effort to write down your dreams? I’m not referring to the dreams you see while you’re asleep (although writing those down can be pretty insightful, too). I’m talking about the dreams that drive you, that you want to see fulfilled. If you haven’t tried writing them down, then you should. I read in a book, long back, that it is good to keep aside a notebook to write down all your dreams in. I loved the idea and began writing my most ardent dreams in a book (which I named my ‘Dreambook’). Last day, I was going through it. I noticed that, initially, I used to write quite often. But the gap between each time I write in it went on increasing. Yesterday, I wrote in it after almost over a year.And I wrote out around 4 pages filled with dreams. I urge you to try writing out your dreams or goals, too. It is an extremely uplifting experience. It makes you think a lot, especially about the life ahead. It pushes you to ponder over where you want to be in life, a few years ahead. And it’s a great way to get your priorities sorted out.

I wrote out my dreams under two heads – for the near future (next 2-3 years) and for the distant future (next 20-30 years). It’s a wonderful way to think about what you want in life. It doesn’t always have to revolve around serious issues like job, family, security and the like. When you sit down to write your dreams, you are actually thinking of all that you want to achieve in the near or distant future. It can be major or minor. It can be something as simple as a dream to, say, learn a new instrument or a language. Or something as crazy as wanting to go bungee jumping. Whatever it maybe, writing it out is almost symbolic to taking the first step to achieve it (not my words, I read that somewhere). You are actually taking some effort towards the realization of that dream, setting into motion the whole process of fulfilling it. And like I said, it’s an awesome, enlightening experience. Because you think about what matters to you in life, you list out all that you want in life… You begin to think of many other aspects you might never have thought of earlier. It kind of makes you see life differently.

Once you know what you want in life, you feel a kind of peace within. And writing out one’s most ardent dreams is one ‘practice’ that can bring you an abundance of happiness. So, take some time off from your busy schedule. Sit down in some silent, peaceful place. And write down all your dreams, every serious or silly dream that you want to fulfill in life. If possible, try dreaming more, too. Come on, how hard can that be? 🙂 Whenever you can, go back to doing this, adding more dreams, and sometimes, ticking off the ones that have come true. Don’t consider it as an exercise, though. Do it only if you find happiness in it. I did. And that’s exactly why I wanted to share this with you.

Whether you write it down or not, try to never let go of your dreams. For they are what adds a sparkle to life. Hold onto them! And while you are at it, dream BIG!!!

Voice your opinion :)

