Reading Realizations

That was a random title I came up with, combining some words that came into my head. I don’t even know what it means! It probably doesn’t matter, though, since you will find out what I meant, as you read on.

I have noticed that some books are so easy to read through. As in, they do not have anything deep or complicated that involves extra thought. All you have to do is read on. You know that even if you skip a few sentences or read at an unusually fast pace, you won’t be missing much. Because what the book offers is a simple but interesting read (interesting, because, you wouldn’t be reading it otherwise). Anyway, my point is that it may not have much that requires you to think about or spend time pondering over. My best friend, Kiran, often skips through a few pages (sometimes a lot more than ‘a few’, if the book is exceptionally boring). I don’t think I could do that because skipping pages would leave me with a feeling of having left the book incomplete, which is literally true! The book I’m currently reading – The Other Side of Midnight by Sidney Sheldon – is one that falls under this category. I’ve kinda grown out of the Sidney Sheldon phase, to be honest. It might be thrilling but somehow, it doesn’t hold the same kind of interest for me as it used to, a few years ago. But Merlin told me she loved this particular book and that’s why I thought I would check it out.

Anyway, there are some books which cannot be read in that almost-casual way. These are books that demand your attention, which you cannot read without ensuring that your mind is in it. They force you to think about what you’re reading. Each sentence in it maybe laden with so much depth and meaning that you just can’t read through it like you do with some other books. These books, often, make you pause for a couple of seconds (or more) and try to understand or digest what you have just read. I have come across quite a few books like that. Most of the books that have deeply influenced me would fall into that category. Almost all of Paulo Coelho’s books are a perfect example! I have never been able to read one of Coelho’s books without feeling a need (a very strong one, at that) to reflect deeply on it. In fact, I got a book of his – Brida – and haven’t been able to get to it yet because I don’t seem to find the time that I’ll need (or in other words, time that the book will demand). Sometimes, even simple books, which may not seem to be very profound in what it has to say, has made me stop in the middle of a sentence and think about what I had just read.For instance, The Love Verb by Jane Green and P.S I Love You by Cecelia Ahern were some books that had a quite simple story to tell, yet it struck some inexplicable emotional chord within me and has failed to leave my mind ever since.

I suppose that’s enough of book-talk. 🙂 The day’s been fine…let’s see what else it has in store for me. Before the final full-stop/period, I read a post in a blog I follow (The answers lie in the questions)…and there was this part where the author mentioned about the importance of always asking questions. And to quote her: “At the heart of every great piece of writing lie questions”. I’m a person who asks questions incessantly, about anything and everything. Others don’t always enjoy it but I can’t seem to be able to stop myself from asking questions. When I read this post, I realized that, perhaps, my abnormally active habit of asking (too many) questions is just a part of the writer in me, part of who I am. 🙂 Happy questioning!! 😛

 

Voice your opinion :)