Random Thoughts

I’ve signed up for the Word of the Day thing at dictionary.com. It sends me daily e-mails notifying me of a word that they have selected for that particular day. Being an ardent lover of words (and anything to do with it), it was perfectly typical of me to sign up for something like this…because it would mean learning a new word everyday. OK, maybe not really learning…but atleast, I would know a new word each day and, who knows, sometime, it might come in useful. πŸ™‚ And I must say, I have come across some interesting new words in the past few months. I really loved today’s word, which is what led me to write this. The Word that was mailed to me, for today, is:

pettifog \PET-ee-fog\, verb:

1. To bicker or quibble over trifles or unimportant matters.
2. To carry on a petty, shifty, or unethical law business.
3. To practice chicanery of any sort.

I liked it because, for one thing, it sounds unusual and kinda funny. Second thing, it has a very normal meaning (I’m referring to the first meaning). Bickering over unimportant matters is something we always do but I never thought there would be one single word that could be used in its place! πŸ™‚ Interesting, right? Another word I learnt is:

hircine \HUR-sahyn\, adjective:

1. of, pertaining to, or resembling a goat.
2. Having a goatish odor.
3. Lustful; libidinous.

If you happen to be a word-lover like me and would like to get one new word floating into your inbox everyday (especially when it’s unusual, fascinating new words like the ones I mentioned), do sign up for the Word of the Day thing. πŸ™‚

Moving onto more serious matters, yesterday, during the placement interview, when the interviewer asked me if I had any questions, I pounced on the opportunity. Throughout the interview session, there was something I was dying to ask him. So, I finally got to shoot it out: “Are you happy with your job?” His response was spontaneous and sincere, not an instant’s delay, not a thought about what to say. He replied that he was, indeed, happy with it and that he wouldn’t have come for this kind of interview (since it involves hours of traveling, spending time for the selection procedure, so on) if he weren’t happy. He explained about how his organization gave him enough and more opportunities to go beyond the boundaries of his specific position, how he got to travel to different places for job purposes that don’t come under his purview, but were entrusted to him for the facilitation of his personal growth. He seemed genuinely happy with his job and I could see that he loved what he was doing.

Before I went for the recruitment process, many of my seniors and friends had mentioned that this job wouldn’t really be worthwhile and told me not to take it too seriously. After I spoke to this person from the company, I changed my mind. From what I could understand, I felt that it

Having a job you love can go a long way in making your life better

is an organization that focusses on its employees’ personal growth and lets them keep their passion & interests alive. When you take into account the number of fast-growing organizations today, that’s something rare. And that is exactly what drew me to think more about joining this organization. I haven’t come to a conclusion yet. I’m aware of the fact that it will be super-stressful and draining, but I also know that if I do decide to join this place, I will be part of an organization that is dynamic, fast-growing and, at the same time, concerned about the growth and development of each of its employees as well. That’s what I want – a job that will let me develop to my maximum, not let me stick to my comfort zone and which will help me contribute to the growth of the firm, eventually. Sounds too serious, coming from someone who’s so much into mindless banter (= ME!!), right? Let’s wait and see what life has in store for me.

5 thoughts on “Random Thoughts

    • It doesn’t matter if you can’t remember. Just read through them once or twice. Sometime when you need it, I’m sure it will leap out at you (from your mind, that is). πŸ˜€ Anyway, just have fun knowing new words (like I do)! πŸ™‚

  1. I have a friend who, like me, is a wordsmith. She loves unusual words and often sends them to me with their meanings. Thanks for sharing these two. They were fun.

    I thought the question you asked at your interview was perfect! When considering taking a job, it’s nice to know that the other employees are happy in their positions. So many people take jobs that are such a drudge to them but they slug away at them because they are afraid they might not get another, or they need the money. If the interviewer is happy and the company seems to really cares about its employees, the likelihood that YOU will enjoy working there greatly increases. πŸ™‚

    • Exactly what I feel, too! When you see that others working in the organization are satisfied and happy, it motivates you to join, as well…influencing your decision far more than any campaigning (on the part of the company) can!

Voice your opinion :)

