From Books I Loved…

Last day, while going through some of my old diaries, I found some excerpts that I had written down from books I loved. I thought I would share them with you. I have also included a bit of what I think about these books. These are lines that have touched me in profound ways, and brought about a radical change in my perceptions and outlook towards a lot of aspects in life.

“I want to be with a man who will be my bra and tampon and credit card and cook and pedicurist and masseuse and driver and muse, vibrator, comb, gardener and pilot. And I will be everything for him.”

“But there are people who really meant something, who changed my life, in good or bad ways, who helped me get where I am today. And they are gone, and I don’t know where they are, or how to find them, and I cannot remember the last time I saw them, and there was no goodbye, no decisive parting, just a wearing away, just one day after the next came and went without seeing them, and then they were no longer part of my life.”

A Pack of Lies, Urmilla Deshpande

A book I loved for the distinct and poignant way in which the life of a woman and her struggles (emotional and otherwise) have been portrayed.

 

“Faith is universal. Our specific methods for understanding it are arbitrary. Some of us pray to Jesus, some of us go to Mecca, some of us study subatomic particles. In the end, we are all just searching for truth, that which is greater than ourselves.”

“God is not an omnipotent authority that looks from above and threatens to put us into pits of hell if we disobey. God is the energy that flows through the synapses of our nervous system and the chambers of our hearts.”

“The planet is an organism. All of us are cells with different purposes. And yet we are intertwined serving each other. Serving the whole.”

Angels & Demons, Dan Brown

This is one book that has forced me to think again about so many things in life; things that are fundamental to one’s existence like one’s belief in religion. There is a line in this book that says physics is like a religion for some scientist characters in the book. That’s when I realized the true meaning of religion. All of us have a religion of our own, something which he hold onto strongly, something which we believe in, beyond everything else. I guess my religion would be books & writing. What’s yours?

 

“He is the type of man who means it when he asks, “How are you?” and then listens to the answer. Men will never understand that this is one of the sexiest things a man can say to a woman.”

“Who’s to stop us if we decide to stay in a city for reasons as intangible as the glimpse of a Mughal-era tomb out of the corner of our eye as we sit in a noisy autorickshaw, or Chandra [Jain’s maid]’s lovingly made morning lassis? Who’s to tell us that the moments of grace we encounter in a place are not enough to keep us there– that instead we need a context, a future, a father, a husband?”

“Perhaps it is the constant stripping down and building up again of a life that appeals to me, like a snake shedding its skin every few years. I think: When does my life go on autopilot? Maybe it never does, because I start getting restless when I’m too settled. There’s something in the gypsydom that I need, that is fundamental to who I am.”

“But it’s also painful to not have the right to feel betrayed, but to feel it acutely nonetheless.”

“I do not consider myself a good lover…In fact, although I hardly wish to overstate the case, I may even be a poor lover. I am neither extremely generous, nor inventively acrobatic, nor indefatigable. I’m not terribly experienced or irresistibly sexy, and worst of all, I’m far too interested in postcoital affection and conversation.”

Marrying Anita, Anita Jain

‘Marrying Anita’ is a book I can’t stop talking about. Whether it is the writing style (a wonderful combination of wry, witty and casual humour with an honest tone of narration) or the portrayal of the character or the situations described, this is a book I totally relate to. I identify with the character of Anita to an amazing extent, more than I could with any other. I share her frustration at the inability to find a guy who matches one’s concept and I was surprised to find myself nodding in agreement with so many situations mentioned in the book. One of my all-time favourites!

 

“Finding someone you love and who loves you back is a wonderful, wonderful feeling. But finding a true soul mate is an even better feeling. A soul mate is someone who understands you like no other, loves you like no other, will be there for you forever, no matter what. They say that nothing lasts forever, but I am a firm believer in the fact that for some, love lives on even after we’re gone.”

“…what a luxury it was for people to be able to hold their loved ones whenever they wanted…”

“But, Holly, nobody’s life is filled with perfect little moments. And if they were, they wouldn’t be perfect little moments. They would just be normal. How would you ever know happiness if you’d never experienced downs?”

P.S I Love You, Cecelia Ahern

I guess I have written a lot about this book, already, in earlier posts. But, considering the way it touched me, it’s no surprise that I keep coming back to it. I love the characters in it; I could see a little of myself in a couple of them. And I could relate so well to Holly’s emotions, her relationship with her family and friends. An amazingly simple book that revolves around everything that matters to us in life – love, family, friends, happiness and loving oneself.

 

4 thoughts on “From Books I Loved…

  1. Pingback: If You Could See Me Now by Cecelia Ahern « arlasworld

Voice your opinion :)

