Miles Away, Yet Near…

I logged in around two hours ago and (you might find this a little hard to believe) since then, I have been hooked (actually, still am) to the computer screen. I have been reading some random blogs. I find one interesting link in the first blog, jump onto that, notice another one there, go on to that and by now, I think I have gone through so many of those random blogs. I managed to find some REALLY good ones, anyway! 🙂 I don’t know about you but I’m a blogaholic and make it a point to go through the posts that are Freshly Pressed. I have noticed that they may not always be all that great. Sometimes, after reading certain Freshly Pressed posts, I have wondered what exactly the WP people were thinking when they chose it for the homepage! Anyway, I loved the ones that were Freshly Pressed today. Really interesting! 🙂 Someday, I’m hoping I will be featured on that list, too. Someday (wistful sigh).

Since it’s exam time out here, there’s nothing much happening with me. It’s mostly just sleep, eat, sit in front of a book, talk and some loafing around. And yes, blogging. 🙂 Can’t do without it. Lot of plans are being considered since we have only some 2 weeks left. All of us want to go out, spend time together and, basically, have some (more) great time before we leave. Somehow, with all that I have on my mind, I don’t feel all that enthusiastic because I know it will be super-hard squeezing in time for those hangouts.

During the past few days, while I was at Merlin’s, my first ex called me up. It was unexpected. Not in the wrong way, though. We are still good friends and keep in touch. We don’t talk very often but when we do, we catch up on each other’s lives and talk about school times, common friends, so on. This time, he called at a very ‘appropriate’ time. I had just had a quarrel (over the phone) with my sister and I was hurt and angry. Emotionally down. When he called, I was glad to have something else to think about. We spoke about his present relationship, college life, old school friends, memories…so much that I forgot all about what was distressing me until then. I was feeling so good after the conversation and sent him a text message saying so. He replied saying that he didn’t have to talk to me everyday to keep in touch with me, that just one occasional call was enough to give him happiness that could last for a year. I was surprised to find that I agreed with him! 🙂

Some friendships are like that. You may not be in constant contact with each other. You may not even know where the other person is right now. But sometime when you need them (or at very random instances), they appear out of nowhere. And give you a hell lot of happiness. Even though you have been out of touch for so long, somehow, the distance always turns out to be irrelevant. Because those conversations that happen once in a while are enough to destroy the distance that came up  in between. Inspite of all that gap, you never seem to lose the bond you had with them…the spark never seems to be lost. 🙂 Those friendships are the ones that should be cherished, treasured for life.

All of us have similar stories…stories of friends who are faraway, but who share a very special bond with you, even though you don’t get to talk much. Friends who can bring back the magic in your friendship every time you talk, even if it maybe after months or years. They always remain in that special place at the back of our head, never really fading off with time. Always there, always sure to pop out with some wonderful memories of times gone by, with intermittent calls and convos. If, right now, you are thinking about that distant friend of yours, why not give them a call, just to say hi or that you miss them or that you love them, or that you’re glad they are part of your life? 🙂 Go ahead! You’ll thank me for it! 🙂 Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “Miles Away, Yet Near…

  1. I know exactly what you mean. Many of my closest friends I only speak to a couple of times a year and yet we always pick up right where we left off, and likewise many of my friends live a long way away yet the physical distance doesn’t seem to cause any trouble anymore. It’s great! 🙂

    • 🙂 Sounds like you have a bunch of great friends! Even I think it’s wonderful how you can still feel so close to those (seemingly) distant friends, especially when you don’t talk or meet all that often. 🙂

  2. And here I was wondering if I was the only one. A lot of my friends complain that I do not call or text them till I’m assumed dead. And when I talk to them as if no time has passed, they’re stumped. But in less than ten minutes we’re best friends again.

    It’s nice to know that you’re not alone in weirdom (Dunno if that’s a word, but that’s never stopped me from making up new ones 😀

    • Haha! You’re not the only one! I know exactly what you mean. When it comes to true friends, I guess it’s not really necessary to keep in constant touch with each other. Personally, I believe that it’s a bond where you don’t really need to take a conscious effort for it to grow. 🙂
      And by the way, weirdom sounds GOOD! Even I come up with such weird, new words! 🙂

  3. I have several friends who live far away. My ‘nearest-and-dearest’ moved two provinces away because that was where her husband was transferred. It was a very sad day when she left. We are like sisters because we ‘met’ when I was just a baby. She was my next-door neighbour and we were inseparable growing up. We can still meet or call each other and you’d never know how much time had passed since the last time we spoke. It’s wonderful to have a friend like that! 🙂

    • It was touching to read about how your childhood friend had to move away. But, with true friendship, the best thing is that you never have to worry about distance or time being an obstacle. 🙂 I’m really glad to know you’re still the great, best friends that you always were! 🙂

  4. Its just amazing to read an untold thought right on the computer screen. Amazing cos i was pretty surprised to see that the pattern in how people relate to each other could match so much. Really a hearty read. I guess i’ll come back for more.

  5. Pingback: When you think it, feel it BLOG IT! :) oh and a RE-BLOG – Finding A Blog-Friend « livelearnmature

  6. It’s like that with me with my closest friends. I guess it’s because of all the moving around I’ve done in my lifetime that I don’t really have any close friends who are in proximity. My closest friends are the ones I had in school and though a lot of them are now in different countries and I haven’t met some of them for 7 years, I never feel that way when I catch up with them online or on the phone. There’s no awkwardness, or no kind of silence that makes the conversation seem out of place. So I completely understand what you mean in this post. Great post 🙂

    • I never thought this post would actually resonate with others, but I’m amazed to see so many people say they have been through the same. 🙂 Welcome to the club! 😛

Voice your opinion :)

