Are You Afraid To Die?

Yet another day…that brings me closer to the end of college, closer to the start of a new phase in life. 🙂

Yesterday, the father of one of my classmates passed away. He had been hospitalized for a while, so I think it wasn’t too much of a shock. But losing a parent, especially at such a young age, is never less traumatic just because you were already kinda warned. All of us went to her place for the funeral. I’m not personally very close to her, yet it broke my heart to see her sitting there, holding in the pain that she was going through. Coming in contact with death always has a somber effect on my mood. I sat there, watching the people coming and going while my friend sat there, probably lost in memories or thoughts. I thought about how it could have been my parent or somebody else’s…how we were so close to losing someone close to us. I thought about how short our lives are…yet how we never seem to see it! After the funeral, I saw the relatives and others coming out and was surprised to see them chatting with others they knew. They were all solemn and serious one moment, and right after stepping out, it seemed like they had completely forgotten about whatever happened inside. They were busy talking about their kid’s classes or that person’s marriage or this person’s new car. All this, while my friend was crying her heart out over the loss of her father. Of course, it wasn’t their loss, it was her’s and only her’s.

I asked a friend who was near me, about why they behaved so indifferent. She replied that death is not something people want to dwell over. That’s when I realized that loss and death are not concepts that people like to think about, until it happens to them. They prefer ignoring that certain fact until it arrives at their threshold. We know we will all die someday, any day, in fact. Yet that is something we (almost) NEVER choose to think about. Maybe because we don’t want to acknowledge the possibility of having to die someday soon, or perhaps we are just plain scared. I’m a person who constantly thinks about death…not that I want to die. But whenever I want to do something and don’t know if I should, I ask myself: “If I die today/tomorrow, will I regret not doing this?” And that gives me my answer, within an instant!

I see death as an inspiration to live – live more, live better. The possibility of death happening any minute, any second, makes me want to live now, this moment. I don’t want to leave behind regrets or anything that I’d have liked to do. So, I try my best to do what I love and love what I do, just so that I won’t have to die with any regrets. It drives me to do things that I might not have done otherwise, to build relationships that I wouldn’t have cared about otherwise, to be happy as much as possible. Because you can never be sure about tomorrow. And frankly, I don’t think I care about dying tomorrow. I have reached a point where I can say, with complete certainty, that I am not afraid to die. I ask this question to a lot of friends. I have come across very few who say they are not afraid to die.

I say I don’t have the fear (of death) because I know I have done what I wanted to do, until this moment. If I had to die right now, this very minute, I would be fine with it. Because I know I have lived my life, I have done whatever I wanted to, done the maximum I could with the available situation/resources/time. Yes, there’s a lot more that I’d like to do, so much of it, in fact. But that doesn’t really matter. What matters is how much you lived your life. I have had my (more than) fair share of fun, laughed a lot, known, given and got lots of love, made others happy, made some awesome friends, learnt so much… Basically, I have lived. To the full, until this moment. Period. I don’t see why I should be scared to die now. Yes, I’d like to tell my loved ones that I love them a lot, before leaving. But that doesn’t really matter, because I’m sure I’ve already made it clear to them. Moreover, my diary says enough of it for them to know that they mean a lot to me.

So, I think the fear of death comes when you haven’t really lived your life fully, when you feel you haven’t done half of what you wanted to do, when you know you’re yet to live life. I may not have done much, in another person’s perspective. But I know I’ve lived life and that’s more than enough for me. If you have always pulled back from doing something or kept something for later or are waiting to sort out a fight with a loved one (keeping it for the next day and then the next)…in short, if you’re keeping ‘living life’ for later, then stop it now. And start living. For, you never know about tomorrow. Love, laugh, live. Be happy. Kick out that fear of death; it will only stand in the way of living, anyway. And be able to say that you have lived, done what you wanted, what you can, until now…

P.S : When I say I’m not afraid of death, I’m referring solely to my death. I do NOT mean to say that I’m OK with any of my family members or friends (dear ones, in short) passing away.

8 thoughts on “Are You Afraid To Die?

  1. I have a similar opinion on this one (go figure!) just yesterday I was off to my GP with some “odd symptoms” and I was scared because I didn’t know what it was that was actually wrong with me. I joked with a lot of people I came into contact with through out the day and said “if I die…” but honestly I was scared (sure it may have been a tad dramatic but in that moment of not knowing I couldn’t not think about it) … sure I do think about dying, and yes I agree with you (go figure again) I’d be okay with dying now, if it happened to be “my time” … I know up to this point I’ve lived a good life and I know until the point that I have to leave this world to be with my Heavenly Father, up to and until that very last few seconds I will be able to say “yes I’ve lived this life well”

  2. Well, i had almost the same experience. I and chiks had gone to a funeral. There inside everyone looked so sad and dull that we came out. And usually people wear black to funerals right? People outside were wearing bright colors, coming so dressed up as if to sum marriage, talking and laughing as if nothing had happened. I felt like going and telling them to shut their mouth. And a group of people were laughing so loudly and talking so happily, i felt really irritated. I mean, don’t they have some sense? I hated those people for behaving this way when the whole family was crying their heart out!

    • that is highly infuriating and heartless hey Ann, not so long ago in the area I’m from there was this tragic accident. it was really sad, among the victims were a mom & her 11 month old baby. although I didn’t know them from a bar of soap my heart went out to them. I was livid with anger a day or so after the incident when gruesome pictures taken by some heartless idiot at the scene of the accident flooded emails.

      some people have no heart.

      • Well said. I don’t know why some people go about sending such pictures. I’ve always felt like they are kinda commercializing a disaster. I mean, instead of spreading the pictures, why not do something to make things better for the unfortunate people out there? Im sure that would speak far better than any number of pictures!

  3. You are so wise for one so young! 🙂 I don’t think I gave death much thought when I was your age. I was fortunate not to have anyone close to me pass away until I was in my 30s. Since then I have said the final goodbye to three grandparents, my own parents and the parents of close friends and even close friends themselves. It’s never easy and I still miss them to this day.

    Sometimes at funerals, when you hear laughter, it is often someone remembering a good time they’d had with the deceased and is not meant as disrespect. It’s often better to remember them in good times and not bad times.

    May you live long and prosper! 🙂

    • 🙂 Sometimes, certain situations force us to think in ways we might never bother thinking otherwise. I guess that’s what happened with me.

  4. Pingback: The Top 10 Regrets In Life By Those About To Die « VeehCirra

Voice your opinion :)

