Waiting To Get Home…

I have slept a lot during the past few days. Don’t know why. Even if I sleep for a while during the afternoons, I still feel so damn sleepy by the end of the day. I try to stay up and maybe, spend time talking or watching a movie, but it’s unusually hard for me. Maybe this is how the down-time takes its toll on me. ๐Ÿ™‚

So, post-weekend, my situation hasn’t changed much. Maybe just a tiny little bit. I’m actually making an effort to not let myself be so bothered by problems that are out of my control. And I think I’ve kinda come up with some possible solutions. Just hope it works out. I’m just days away from leaving college. Tomorrow will be my last exam. And within two days, I’ll be vacating from hostel and going back home. I won’t be part of this hostel or college anymore, won’t have to come here often (or at all, in fact)… All those people whom I have seen and spoken to and been with for the past 3 years will be scattered in different places, they are going to be akin to strangers. I can’t even be sure if we will recognize each other if we happen to cross paths some 10 years from now.

Such a scary thought. Yet it’s inevitable. It evokes a lot of insecurity but there’s nothing I can do to pause it or avoid it. So, I’m trying to face it as it comes. Right now, I push away the saddening thoughts and think of the awesome time I’m going to have once I get back to RAK, to my family. That is one thought that helps me remain sane right now. ๐Ÿ™‚ I was just googling through some photos of the city I call home. And I’m hit by this wave of nostalgia…of the times I’ve spent there, the random buildings I remember seeing while going from one place to another, the landmarks… For a moment, it felt almost like I was back there, actually seeing it all. Well, I may not be there there, right now. But within two weeks’ time, I’m going to be right there!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Now, for those of you who don’t know much about Ras-Al-Khaimah, here are a couple ofย  links you might like!

Ras Al Khaima in the past… (Note: See the RAK hospital? My home’s quite near to it. Seeing it made me feel kinda close to home!)

The Official Site of RAK

6 thoughts on “Waiting To Get Home…

  1. I can’t imagine how excited you must feel about returning home! As for your college friends, in this new digital age, it should be easy to keep in touch with those who live so far from you. Once I left college, I had to rely on snail mail to get any news, or expensive long-distance calls to keep in touch with my friends. If you have a good texting plan, it won’t cost you a fortune to contact your friends. You can send and receive pictures that will make you feel as though they are still close. Change can be scary, but look at this as an opportunity, an open door to a wonderful new life. Best of luck in your new life! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I know, I’m hoping Facebook and e-mails will help me in keeping track of them. And yes, I’m trying to see this as an opportunity to explore more of life, more of the world. ๐Ÿ™‚

Voice your opinion :)

