Thrilled, Touched & Horrified OR What I Did Last Night :D

Yesternight, I realized something else I hate in people. I HATE it when people watch a movie and then come publicize (read: go around shouting) the twist/suspense in the movie, just so that they can spoil the experience for others who haven’t watched the movie yet or are planning to watch it soon. I hate it so much that I can’t even begin to tell you how much! And yesterday, it happened to me. Till now, I have had to go through this twice, but both the times, it wasn’t about a movie I was keen on watching. So, it didn’t matter if I knew the suspense beforehand. But last night,  a roommate of mine got this movie I had been longing to watch ( ‘Kahaani‘ – a Hindi movie starring Vidya Balan). She watched it and when she came to the room, she started saying something about the movie and I stopped her, I told her I wanted to watch it. Right away, she came and blurted out the suspense part to me! I got so irritated. Anyway, I kept quiet because I didn’t want us to have an issue just before leaving.

Anyhow, what I mean to emphasize here is the fact that I totally hate people who do this. I don’t know what they get from it but it’s one of the worst things they could do to someone who loves movies and the experience that each one offers. Like me. Well, it didn’t stop me from watching the movie anyway. I watched it, last night, with Merlin. And, inspite of knowing the twist, I LOVED it! So much that it failed to leave my mind… 🙂 Vidya Balan has done an amazing job… I guess she is the only person who could have done it; somehow, the other Bollywood actresses don’t really have the ‘guts’ (yes, you need guts to pull off a role like that) and the talent…atleast according to me. Well, Kahaani is a movie I’d highly recommend to everyone out there. Do try to watch it when you can! 🙂

After watching Kahaani, Merlin and I weren’t sleepy. So, we went on to watch this Malayalam movie that both of us LOVE. We had already seen it once (in fact, I had seen it twice) but wanted to watch it once more. So, that’s what we did. The movie I’m talking about  – Traffic (2011) – is one of the best Malayalam movies I’ve got to watch in the recent years. It moved me in ways I cannot explain; it touched me like no other Malayalam movie ever has. It is one movie that will always make it to my top 10 list; one movie that I could watch over and over again, and still be moved as much as I was when I saw it first. The background score is AMAZING (actually everything about he movie is!)…brilliantly woven into the plot and evokes a lot of emotions in me. It showcases excellence in almost every facet, be it acting, script, dialogues, music. Apart from all this, Traffic is thought-provoking, and always leaves me thinking of how we make mountains out of molehills when all we need to do is take it easy and live life. 🙂

After Traffic, Merlin and I watched Amusement, an American 2008 horror film. OK, I know we seem to be mixing up every genre. But we happened to be extremely ‘unsleepy’. 🙂 Though, unlike the awesome reviews for the previous 2 movies, I don’t have anything good to say about Amusement. I didn’t like it at all. Amusement sucked! I don’t know why they even made the movie, it made no sense to me. Like most horror movies I have come across, to be frank. That gives me an idea for another post. Meaning: more coming up on horror movies…SOON! 🙂

So…last night, we stayed up until almost 4:30am, watching 3 movies of 3 different languages & genres, back-to-back. One experience I might not get again! 🙂

18 thoughts on “Thrilled, Touched & Horrified OR What I Did Last Night :D

  1. well I sadly haven’t watched any of those movies you’ve mentioned Rosh (especially not the horror, I can’t bear to watch horror 😦 ) but I had a similar-ish situation. On our local television station they’re showing this series “What I like about you” (Google it, I tried putting a picture up here but it didn’t quite work out) and a colleague and I were on the verge of reading up on what happens next and there’s this other lady who had watched the whole thing prior and she was saying she knew how the whole series ended, thankfully we stopped her and didn’t read about it either!

  2. Well, i don’t know how it feels like because i never experienced anythin like that…. No one has broke the suspense ever.. Mayb its because my selection of movies r kinda different frm my frnds so it mayb cmes out that they nevr saw it…

  3. Ah student life! Loved staying up to watch movies, pigging out on chips and pop….now I fall asleep half-way through them at 11pm 😉 enjoy this time as much as you can!

Voice your opinion :)

