Home is Here! :D

Tadaaa…I know it’s been an awful long time since I posted last! Really sorry. What happened is this: 17th was my last exam. 18th was just spent with friends at hostel. 19th was the class Farewell. And  on 20th, I vacated from hostel. That’s in short. I haven’t mentioned anything about how it pained me to think of leaving my friends, knowing that I might not be seeing half of them ever again. I haven’t told you anything about the teary farewell we had, how I couldn’t stop my eyes from welling up when I had to leave Maria and Merlin (my best friends at college). I also didn’t tell anything about how I still don’t seem to be able to accept the fact that college is over, that I can’t go back there at the end of a vacation, or sit in those boring classes or talk shit about it! Most of my classmates aren’t readers…and reading would be the last thing I’ll expect them to do when they are online. So, I know they won’t really be reading my blog (with the exception of a few). Still, if they did, they will be able to read between the lines and feel all these unsaid emotions, I’m sure. Because they went through the same. I’m going to miss them a lot! 😦

Anyway, Merlin put up a surprise for my birthday. It was quite unexpected because she had always (almost) been with me during the day; I hadn’t exactly given her time to sneak away and arrange a surprise, you see. Inspite of that, she did come up with something. And I loved it! Apart from Merlin, some of my dearest friends and juniors were part of it, which made it all the more special for me! It was my first, last and best birthday at college/hostel! My previous two birthdays (while in college) were spent at home, getting bored!!

After going home on 20th, I didn’t do anything much. Since there was a cousin’s marriage on 23rd, all of us were busy with stuff. I had some awesome new experiences during those couple of days. 🙂 After the marriage, I was so damn tired. Couldn’t pull myself up from the bed!  Yet, when my cousin put up this plan of going for a movie that night, I was all geared up to go,   keeping aside the ‘body-ache’ that was killing me! So, we went for a movie that night…It was a first time experience for me  – going for a movie at night (it’s kinda unusual in this part of the country). And it was fun!!

Next day was spent in packing and blah blah…nothing interesting. And on 25th,  Tadaaa… I flew down to RAK! I’m coming home after around a year and half. And my first glimpse of the desert was awesome! 🙂 I couldn’t stop looking down at the view – the stretch of ‘unadulterated’, untouched desert…truly spellbinding! For me, atleast! It made me feel so damn happy! 🙂  I landed at Sharjah Airport by 12 30pm and, within an hour, I was on my way home, with mom, Ann  (youngest sister), a cousin, her kid and mom. I loved seeing the vast expanse of desert all around…the feel of the heat, the buildings on the way, familiar landmarks, the usual chatter in the car… Aaahhh…I can’t tell you how great it felt to be back home! 🙂 I know you’ll perfectly understand, anyway!

Back here, almost every tree you see looks barren… They have bare branches, look absolutely devoid of moisture, kinda lifeless… That’s how nature looks like out here (unless you spend time and tend to the plants/trees). But, seeing those trees, I felt a sense of joy that I haven’t felt in a long time. I’d prefer seeing these bare-branched trees any day,  rather than the lush greenery of Kerala! I know that sounds weird and crazy. But I mean it. And I said so to my mom! I guess it’s probably because I was born and brought up here…and everything about this place connects to me, to my core being.

Well, so…I don’t want to get you yawning with too much details about home,   blah blah. It feels liberating to be here, because I know this is where I belong. I can kinda sense my soul rejoicing…because it knows it’s home. 🙂 So, I have arrived!  You can expect many happier, ‘awesomer’ & more regular posts coming up… 🙂 Have fun!!! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Home is Here! :D

  1. Pingback: so… | Shugamama's Blog

Voice your opinion :)

