Diary-Writing=Blogging????

Yesternight, my younger sister – Janet – came home after her first year exams! πŸ™‚ So, after many months, all of us are together again! πŸ™‚ It feels great, obviously. But today has been kind of a bad day. Don’t know why but I’ve been feeling a little low. Actually, I hate Fridays; I’ve always hated them for some reason or the other. And I’ve rarely had happy Fridays (except maybe when I was back in college).

Even right now, sitting here, thinking of what to write for today, I’m blank. There’s a certain kind of monotony settling in right now, a sort of pattern in the way I spend my days. And I HATE that! I absolutely hate monotony in life and can get easily demotivated by it. Which is probably why I’m feeling low right now. Because I seriously can’t put my finger on any other possible reason!

You know what? Janet never really reads my blog. But recently, when I asked her, she told me that she read the last few posts, through the updates in Facebook. I was extremely happy when I heard that. So, when she came, I asked her what she thought about it. She was like “It’s more like diary writing, I thought blogging was supposed to be like talking about a specific topic.” She joked that it would have been better if I just started diary writing over on my blog. OK, I admit I was a little disappointed by the nonchalance and lack of appreciation in her comment. But apart from that, I was struck by what she said.

So many people think blogging is about voicing your opinions on serious issues (like politics, current affairs, blah blah). Yes, it is about all that. And so much more. Much much more. Blogging is a platform for you to write about absolutely anything you want. It could be about your thoughts, your take on some issue, improving your writing, talking about experiences, reaching out to similar writers, displaying your talent (photography, writing, art), sharing new information (recipes!!!), just random banter…anything under the Sun.

A blog isn’t exactly a place where people discuss and/or argue about the latest political developments or social issues, although it is certainly a part of blogging. You could just be blogging about your day, what you did or what you went through, or even something as simple as what you ate for lunch. And it would still be called blogging!

(I hope) This is how my readers look like while reading my nonsense πŸ˜›

I know my blog is of a personal nature and might seem more like journal entries. But this isn’t how I write in my diary. I CANNOT blog about everything that happens in my life, I can write that in my diary. I do not write elaborately about my crazy thoughts in my diary, I save those for my blog. I do not find like-minded people through my diary, I do it over here. I do not let anyoneΒ read my diary (Hell NO!); on the other hand,I want people to read my blog (which clearly points out this is NOT diary-writing for me!). Reading my diary would be utterly boring for others, Β while my blog is far more interesting (atleast, that’s what Β I hope!). I do not want ‘likes’ and comments on my diary, but I want them here. And, I have to admit, I write a lot more of bullshit in my diary! πŸ˜€

I could come up with so many more differences between the two. But, I guess this will do, for now (can’t wait to get my sis to read this!). Let me also add this one bit – I LOVE diary writing! Just as much as I love blogging (though I’m a lot more regular with the latter!). Damn, where did I begin and where have I ended up? Like every other time!! Nothing new, I suppose. Anyway, I hope I’ve made the idea of blogging a tiny bit clearer to all those who thought it was diary-writing! πŸ™‚

Happy weekend to y’all! πŸ™‚

 

12 thoughts on “Diary-Writing=Blogging????

  1. I’ve never actually kept a diary, when I think about doing it, I just instead start writing a blog. Not because I feel they are the same – but id be too worried that a diary would be an utterly depressing place, where I rant and rave about the personal issues of the moment – that to be honest, I’d rather put behind me. Its great that it does alot for you and I think you’ve definetly answered the skeptics. In bloggng, the world is your oyster.

    • Loved this line – ‘In bloggng, the world is your oyster’. πŸ™‚ And yes, I know some friends who don’t really enjoy keeping a diary, and some turn to it only when they are extremely happy or sad. For me, it’s been a wonderful experience. πŸ™‚

  2. I love your perspective on blogging. I hate to admit it but I always thought blogging was a glorified version of writing a diary. But thanks to you, I never knew that blogging can make such a positive impact in other people’s lives!

    • πŸ™‚ Glad you liked it. Blogging certainly has made a positive impact on my life. πŸ™‚ And even though it may seem a lot like diary writing, it is so much more, and very different from recording your daily events and thoughts in a diary. πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Diaries burn, print or live on in rotation. « Prose Ventures

  4. Pingback: Blogging « All things in the middle

  5. I wrote in a diary as a teenager – you know, the usual angst-filled stuff. You’re right when you said that blogging is different than diary-writing. Some might use this medium to keep a diary, I don’t know. I only know that your posts do not seem like a diary any more than mine do. It is a much more social activity, whereas diary-writing is very much a solitary thing. Happy blogging! πŸ™‚

  6. Hi Roshni…thanks for visiting my blog and liking a couple of my posts…hope you will find other posts which may inspire or assist you along your own life’s journey. And thanks for bringing me here to your blog which I will begin to explore further
    with love light and JOY

    • I loved the photos in your blog…! And yes, I’ll be coming over very often! Thank you so much for dropping by. πŸ™‚

Voice your opinion :)

