The After-Effects of Reading A Thought-Provoking Post

Just when I thought I had understood all the joys that my blog could gift me, I discovered another one. 🙂 Now, I’m seriously wondering if this will ever come to an end. Not that I want it to.

Like I’ve mentioned before, I go through the Freshly Pressed posts everyday. Today, I read a post that struck me in ways more than one. It’s basically a film review but something so different from what I had expected – Film Review: ‘This Is Not a Film’ highlights Iranian filmmaker’s talents while under house arrest. There are a couple of lines in this post that I loved: “The need to direct is in this man’s blood. It’s an energy that simply cannot be repressed, no matter the threat of jail.” True talent can never be suppressed, whatever you do to a person. Jafar Panahi (the director mentioned in the post) is a living example for that. He is an Iranian film director who has made some critically acclaimed movies (that have won many awards). In 2010, he was given a 6-year jail sentence and 20 year ban on making or directing any movies/screenplay/giving interviews.

The iranian filmmaker member of the jury of th...

Jafar Panahi

I love the way his talent and his need (not a want or desire or longing, but a necessary need!) to direct has been portrayed by the writer of this post. He is described as someone who is kept alive by his zeal and talent to make films. People like that are rare to find; people with such brilliance in talent, such dedication and love for what they do. I don’t understand why a man like Panahi should be under arrest/ban. It just doesn’t make sense to me. Especially with so many people protesting against it and demanding he should be released! I hope he gets released soon and continues to make good movies. By the way, the Amnesty International are collecting signatures as part of a request to reverse the sentence imposed on Panahi. This was mentioned in the other post as well, but just in case you overlooked it, you can join the action here.

Apart from these thoughts, reading this post made me realize something. I used to read the newspaper daily (almost) and knew atleast a considerable bit about what was going on in the world around me. But, after joining college, I lost touch with everything related to the world outside. I lost the interest to keep myself informed, I lost the motivation to find time for it…and well, I just lost contact with the whole world. I still haven’t regained it, though I’ve begun trying. And this post has super-motivated me, now! More than that, it has pointed out to me how much I’ve missed, how much I don’t know about what’s going on out there. Blogging has begun to keep me informed about current affairs/happenings around the world (which is a function basically associated with newspapers, news channels, media…you get the idea!)!!! That’s something exciting for me. Because I had never thought of this aspect, never considered blogging could be so much more than expressions put into words. And now, not only has it begun to inform me but has also given me that necessary push to start regaining what I had lost.

I don’t know when I’ll stop saying this:  I LOVE BLOGGING! 🙂

8 thoughts on “The After-Effects of Reading A Thought-Provoking Post

  1. Isn’t it amazing the wonders you get from blogging. The people you meet, the things you learn and so much more. Blogging is so rewarding on so many levels. i do understand his passion for what he does. i hope the Iranian government can be convinced to undo the unjust ruling.

  2. Thank you for your thoughts on my blog post. You really got what I was trying to get across. FYI, he was jailed because he planned to make a film about the reelection that put the current president back in power. He was for the secular opposition. In case you don’t know, the president is Mahmoud Ahmadinejad– the one who will not open nuclear pursuits to inspection and has threatened war on Israel. When people say stupidity like “bomb Iran,” think about the innocent objectors like this man in the country’s jail.

    • Thank you so much for the information. Now, the arrest makes sense, though it cannot be justified in any way!

  3. It’s very troubling to think that someone’s right to free speech is being squashed. If it were not for our ability to communicate freely whatever was on our minds – whether it was supporting certain governments or not – we would not be able to meet such wonderful bloggers from across the globe. It is very inspiring to know that some people are compelled to tell their stories no matter the consequence. It makes me feel a little ashamed when I’m not using my writing talent to help people.

    • That’s exactly what I felt when I read the post! I’m not using my talent as much as I should, when I have the freedom and opportunity for it! I guess this realization is the primary motivation behind this particular post.

  4. I’d read the post when it appeared on Freshly Pressed. I’m yet to watch the film – have you watched it yet? I agree, it was a wonderful post and I’m so happy that someone took the time to write about Panahi. Having known about his imprisonment for a long time, it was great to see an Iranian filmmaker’s film highlighted and being given prominence. I guess he must’ve found himself in trouble with the Iranian government after his film ‘The Circle’. That film is still banned in Iran – I hear it’s quite vocal about the suppression of Iranian women.

    • I haven’t watched any of his movies yet. But after reading the post, I’ve been longing to watch this movie.

Voice your opinion :)

