Physics, English & Roots

As time moves on, we tend to forget the causes and reasons which made us what we are today – experiences that taught us valuable lessons, people who influenced us in significant or trivial ways. Of course, we may not completely forget them. But as we move from one phase to another, we leave behind a considerable lot. And we don’t always look back to think of what made us what we are now. They become fond but distant memories…

A couple of days ago, I met a handful of people who played a remarkable role in having molded me into the person I am. Even without being personally close to me, they have had a very deep impact on my thoughts, likes, dislikes and perceptions.

Kiran is here in RAK. We met up on Saturday. I had a great time with her…talking nonsense, joking around and catching up with each other. She is one person with whom I can (comfortably) alternate between being stupid and sensible…and utterly stupid, again. And know I will never be judged. That day, we made plans to go to school the next morning.

๐Ÿ™‚

As decided, we reached school sometime in the afternoon. I had gone there last month with Saba and some other friends. But this was a different experience. I did have to face some probing (and irritating) ย questions about what I’m going to do next. Nothing new there, of course. Atleast it wasn’t as bad as I had expected.

Anyway, Kiran and I met only a select few teachers – those we really like and share a good relationship with (ruling out a couple of exceptions whom we had to meet). All the teachers we met were genuinely happy to see us and we spent some ‘quality’ time with them. While each teacher asked Kiran about her course, college and stuff, I was lost in some thoughts.

It’s been 3 years since we passed out of school. We have changed to a certain extent, be it physically or otherwise. But the teachers we met looked the same, and spoke to us with the same intimacy as before. It was almost as if time hadn’t passed, as far as our bond with these teachers was concerned. Looking at them, seeing their love and happiness, I realized how I grew into the person I am.

I love Science, Physics in particular. I wouldn’t say I know a lot about it, but I love it like hell, and try to learn more about the subject. I met the teacher who is the reason for this love (I hated Physics until 9th grade). She taught us Physics in 9th and 11th grades. She is an amazing teacher, takes a lot of effort to make sure the students have understood the portion taught… The way she explains the concepts, laws, theories and stuff led me to see that Physics could explain a lot of things in life, things that I had overlooked as normal or having/needing no explanation. And then, there was another teacher who taught us Physics in 10th and during the first few months of 11th grade. I admit his classes could get super-boring. But I adored him, absolutely ADORED him! And that just led me to love the subject with added fervour. I met him also, while at school. He is still the same…almost made me wish I could sit in his class, once more. Seeing both of them made me realize how and why I began loving what I love… It was something like going back to ย my roots.

I also met the English teacher who taught us in 10th and 12th (and took some

Note the pun! ๐Ÿ˜› This was a poster put up in one of the classes; found it while checking for some school photos.

random classes in 11th, I think). I wouldn’t say she is my favourite English teacher, but yes, she is someone I really like. She isn’t the one who made me fall in love with language (English, specifically), writing, poetry, imagery and words. But I did enjoy her classes a lot; they were fun (= some yawning, crazy jokes, lots of mimicking)! ๐Ÿ˜› And she did teach me English…which means atleast a part of what I know right now is due to her efforts. But what highlights her in my memory is something else. She taught us Ode To The West Windย in 10th grade. Since then, it has been a favourite poem of mine. Even after so many more having been added to the list.

Seeing those teachers was like going back in time (especially since they didn’t look very different). So…what I’m trying to say is…sometimes, we forget how we began liking something, who/what influenced a certain habit of ours or basically, how we grew to be what we are right now. Going back in time helps reconnect with those reasons, those roots. And why that is necessary? No, I guess it isn’t necessary. But there could be times when you lose touch with who you are, how you got so far… The roots will keep you alive, and help you grow into who you want to be. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

8 thoughts on “Physics, English & Roots

  1. haha omg tht pic of ur book..v actuali cut ur name n wrote evry1 else’s…God…reminds me of so many gud times. wana c tht answer sheet of urs…remember?? omg im already lafing. gud post. im stickin to my roots, i still love my LKG frnd…roshni jacob ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Haha.. ๐Ÿ˜€ I still have the answer sheet here (in fact, I did think of putting up those pics!)… LKG? Don’t remind me! You almost tried to choke me to death when we were in 2nd Std!!

  2. I know a lot of people say they hated high school (and school in general), which I think is unfortunate. I’m not saying I loved all the work I had to do for my classes, but there were many teachers that I admired and must admit, I learned a lot from them. Others, not so much. Those that did positively influence me are the memorable ones, the ones I will never forget and will always be grateful for what they taught me. I’m glad you had a similar experience at your school and can recapture that great feeling whenever you return. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • To be honest, I haven’t met many others like me (except some of my friends) who really loved their school life and miss it, or loved their teachers enough to be influenced by them. Or maybe, they just haven’t thought about it. Anyway, great to know this post resonated with you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Reading this got me emotional. You made some great points about roots that reminded me of so many things. What a grateful sentiment you have here.
    God bless you,
    ~Tinkerbell

Voice your opinion :)

