The Lemons Life Gave Me

They say life gives you what you want (it might give you lemons, if that’s what you want). I wonder who said that. Because he seems to have said it right.

A week ago, I was depressed because I was homesick, lonely and yearned to see a familiar face. And now, for the past few days, I have been spending time with or running into some familiar faces. Also, I’ve found an awesome friend in someone who has a very familiar face.

I met up with Merlin on Saturday, after 1 month of silence. It was a very special experience for both of us. I stayed over at her place for the night. We talked until around 2am or so, caught up with each other’s lives. When I woke up in the morning, it almost felt like I was back in hostel. I had never thought I would be meeting Merlin, atleast not in the way it actually happened. I’m glad we did, though. We got to spend some really good time with each other. She is about to embark on a very significant journey in life, a totally new phase. And I’m glad I was there with her before she left.

There are very few people with whom you can trust yourself. I realized it in full force, once I started living by myself. I had to be careful about who I chose to trust, about divulging personal information… After all this, it’s a complete relief to be with someone you can trust, with whom you can be yourself and say all the nonsense you want to. I spent (almost) the whole of Monday with someone who fits this description perfectly! I was truly happy and enjoyed the time we spent. Maybe I was meant  to go through that period of loneliness, or I wouldn’t have been able to appreciate the happiness I felt yesterday. I had an absolutely awesome time. We talked a lot, had some food, walked around, fooled around a bit, laughed…basically, made most of the time we had.

Yesterday, on my way back from work, I saw a guy who was my senior in college. Both of us recognized each other even though we hadn’t spoken during the 3 years of college. So, life’s giving me what I want, more or less. I got to meet some well-known faces.  I have a handful of friends who genuinely care about me. During the past one week, I’ve also got closer to someone who is so scarily similar to me. I enjoy and love his presence in my life. I wonder what I should ask for next! 🙂

So, do you think life gives/has given you what you want? 

10 thoughts on “The Lemons Life Gave Me

  1. I loved the title! And I guess I needed this post now because I am going through a bit of loneliness myself. So, let’s see what lemons life will give me.. 🙂

  2. like your post! going through a rough patch myself. I think in the long run the universe works for us – not against us, you just have to have patience. And a positive outlook doesn’t hurt either!

    • So true, Molly. I’m glad my post did something to help you with your rough patch. 🙂 I’m sure you will get out of it very soon. Keep smiling, have hope.

  3. I don’t really think about it too much. The moment I express how happy I am over something, it tends to go away. So I’ve learned to be grateful but be modest in my expressions :P. There are times when you feel very inspirational and want to philosophize about life, and then there are times when you simply don’t. When you just live without digging deeper into things. And I guess I’m in the latter phase of life at the moment :).

    It takes time but if you like the place you’ve moved to and you have found “your” people, eventually it will start to feel like home. After all, home is where your heart is ;).

    • You’re right, Rinth. I’m beginning to feel a connection with this place. And I know what you mean when you say that sometimes, you just live without too much of in-depth analysis. There are some experiences that I leave unexplained, that I loved going through. I wouldn’t want to think too much and try to analyze them. 🙂

  4. I like to think life won’t give you more than you can handle, although I have heard some pretty depressing stories about some people who seem to naturally attract disaster. I’ve been lucky that my life hasn’t been as bad as all that. It’s had its ups and downs but has pretty much evened out over the years.

    I’m glad to hear you’ve managed to re-connect with an old friend. I think you’re right about time spent apart – it really does make you appreciate the times you can spend together. 🙂

    • “people who seem to naturally attract disaster”? That sounds bad, very bad. And, even I’d say that my life is pretty much evened out, inspite of the ups and downs that bother me frequently. 🙂

  5. I am glad to hear things have evened out for you, too. 🙂

    Yes, I know of a woman who was abused as a child and then ended up with serious health issues. There was a family (parents & their 3 boys) that got into a bad car accident. The parents were killed and one of the sons so seriously injured he will always be in a wheelchair and need dialysis for the rest of his life. All really bad things that I wouldn’t wish on anyone, so I consider myself lucky. 🙂

Voice your opinion :)

