Intensely Lucky

While some books are a breezy read, there are some that move your mind…perhaps with a slight shudder or a tremor, or it may have the effect of a rough jolt on your mind. The book I’m reading right now falls in the latter category.

Since I moved to this new place in October, my mornings start with a cup of coffee and some time of peaceful reading, sitting out in the balcony area, while the neighbourhood wakes up around me. When I opened Lucky by Alice Sebold, one morning, recently, I never thought I’d have to rethink about the phrase used earlier: peaceful reading. 

LuckyLucky is not an easy read, not the kind of book you can breeze through. It tugs at your heart, firmly clutches on to your thoughts in a way very few books will. If I had to describe it in one word, I would certainly use ‘intense’. On the morning I started reading it, right after the first couple of pages or so, I was disturbed, pained and moved. Like, by those few pages, something had changed in my world.

Lucky is a memoir by Alice Sebold, author of the bestselling and critically acclaimed The Lovely Bones. If you have read The Lovely Bones, you will know how powerful Sebold’s writing is. It is bold, open and distinct. No tough words or phrases, nothing complex. She does not use subtle synonyms to describe a situation; she says it as it is, plain, straightforward. Lucky recounts her experience of beingalice sebold raped when she was in her freshman year at college and goes on to describe how it changed the rest of her life. The book was all the more disturbing for me because of the fact that it’s not merely a story; it details exactly what a young girl went through, for real.

Sebold has portrayed the emotions and situations so intensely that I couldn’t help but feel the 19-year-old Alice was a part of me. I could feel her pain and confusion, the joys of friendship, the problems in her family… Her writing is intense, it pulls you into the book, implores you to try and feel what Alice must have gone through. I had loved Sebold’s writing style after reading The Lovely Bones. And it’s no different this time.

Lucky is a powerful book; a raw, intense read. It has moved me, touched me…and, like The lovely-bonesLovely Bones, I know this is one book that will fail to leave my mind. Highly recommended. And, if you haven’t read The Lovely Bones, that is yet again another highly recommended book.

Some lines I really loved, from the book.

“I live in a world where two truths coexist: where both hell and hope lie in the palm of my hand”

“Since then I’ve always thought that under rape in the dictionary it should tell the truth. It is not just forcible intercourse; rape means to inhabit and destroy everything.”

 

12 thoughts on “Intensely Lucky

  1. Books always takes us to a different world, imprints us the unseen parts of life and allows us to give a thought to the character’s frustrations.. We are the choosers and they are the choice of life that we are curious to know…
    nice review 🙂

      • yea..actually the review did good..now as the whole nation is mourning for a gang raped girl, you did it by giving the apt review of a book that is needed to open insight to the lives of such victims..good work! 🙂

      • The review was in time with the incident, I know. But that was totally unintentional and coincidental. But yes, I guess the book would give an insight into the lives of rape victims.

  2. Pingback: A World Where Safety is a Distant Dream « Thinkingg Out Loud

  3. Pingback: ‘The Lovely Bones’ by Alice Sebold « Wordly Obsessions

  4. As you said, the subject matter seems very ‘intense’. Rape is not an easy subject to discuss. Alice Sebold was brave to write about the experience. Perhaps it will give some insight into the trauma it causes and help others who may have gone through the same thing. 🙂

Voice your opinion :)

