A Not-So-Equal and Opposite Reaction

There’s so much that I want to write about. But, for some reason, I don’t get the words when I try to do it. I get it in my head, at times…while at work, while trying to sleep, at random instances. But rarely when I try to write it out. What disturbs me most about the situation is – it never used to be like this. I could get the words so easily and put my thoughts across in the exact way I wanted.

For a moment, I wondered if I’m losing touch. But no, I think I’ll know it if I lose touch with something so integral to my being. So, I guess it’s probably because whenever I’ve sat down to write, I have been too tired (mentally and physically) to take a substantial effort to write.

It feels so suffocating when you have so much in your mind but cannot bring it out completely. Which is the reason I decided to try writing in the morning, when I’m much more relaxed and alive than during the remaining part of the day.

So, I’m done with the boring job at Dubai. Finally! And now, I’m going to do something that’s been on my wishlist. 🙂

When I came back to RAK, one of the first suggestions I got (in terms of a job opportunity) was to join my school (my alma mater) as a teacher. I was told that I could, probably, teach English or something in one of the lower classes. I was very happy with the idea but kept that as an alternative and continued searching for other opportunities. Which eventually landed me in the boring job.

Since I have had enough of office jobs, I have decided to finally take up the job at school. So, long story short, I’m going to teach! I love teaching. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do although not as a long-term career. Well, I’m excited. Very much. Obviously!

While basking in this excitement, something happened last week. An incident (or rather, a comment) that infuriated me. And, you know, writing is the most effective (and paractical and satisfying) way of taking out anger, for me. Especially when the person on the receiving end is going to be my (recent ex-) boss.

The background situation: I was offered a permanent position at the place where I was working until Thursday. But I turned it down because I wanted to teach.

What happened: It was on Monday. I think. The Boss said, “I had told [the concerned person] that you could work here in the media section but he told me you’re going to teach.”

Me (beaming face): “Yes, sir.”

Boss: “People who don’t want to do anything, teach.”

Me (I don’t know what my expression was, but I think I tried to keep smiling): “Why do you say that, sir?”

Boss: repeats same line. Adds “It’s like that.” (Or something as weird as that)

“Oh, I didn’t want to do anything in life. So, well, I teach. What else would aimless people do?” :-/

And, from that moment, I’ve wanted to tell him a lot of things. When he said it, a lot of emotions crossed my mind – amusement (I wonder why he said that); curiosity (Why would he say something like that?); rage (Why the hell would he say that?); intense hatred (WHAT THE FUCK DID HE JUST SAY?).

I had a lot of respect, admiration and liking for this man. He is intelligent, very much capable, likeable, approachable…all that he should be in order to run a successful company in Dubai. But the comment sort of drained everything I had for him. I’m not judging him, I’m not saying he’s a bad person just because of this statement. He is still a good man. Just that I’ve lost my liking for him, whatever reason he might have to justify what he said. I tried to list out possible reasons, too.

a) He was trying to provoke me, I don’t know what for. Maybe to make me think my decision was stupid.

b) He just likes saying such stuff. You know, kill your happiness.

c) He was trying to discourage me (and ended up enraging me!)

d) That’s what he really thinks

Well, none of the reasons seemed good enough to serve as justification (to me, atleast). So, I have irretrievably lost whatever liking I had for him. And there’s a lot I’d like to tell him (yes, that does mean there’s going to be another post, very very soon).

How was your week? And if you have had similar situations, I’m all ears. Always am. (Even if you just want to go blah blah about something random!) 🙂 

9 thoughts on “A Not-So-Equal and Opposite Reaction

  1. I think your decision to teach is wonderful, despite what your ex-boss thinks! Maybe he had lousy teachers or is under the impression that ‘those who can’t do, teach’, which to me is a bunch of bull. What can be more rewarding than knowing you touched the soul of a child and helped them understand something important? I think you have the joy and energy to make a fantastic teacher. Good luck to you!

    • It’s been a while since I heard from you. Thank you so much for the support. I’ve been getting so much of encouragement and support from very unexpected people, and I’m truly surprised. I hope I’ll be able to give it my best and make atleast one soul understand something significant. 🙂

  2. Good on you for deciding to teach – as a teacher in my third year of the job now, I couldn’t recommend it more. It is one of the most challenging but rewarding jobs you could possibly do, and while there are days where I seriously fear for the future of mankind, most days it is simply amazing to realise you have had some positive impact on a young person’s life, especially when they might not have had too much positivity so far (and that happens a lot with a lot of the kids I’ve taught).
    As for your boss, ignore him. I’ve heard people who say that old “those who can’t succeed at something, teach it”, but it’s a load of crap. You have to be able to do it AND teach it, in order to teach it. If you can’t do it you can’t teach it. I’m sure there are some old, disillusioned teachers out there who probably help create such an image that is held by some people, like your boss, but a lot of teachers can be very successful elsewhere (I plan on continuing to teach when I one day have more serious success as a writer) – many of my uni lecturers were published authors, for example. I sadly have a lot of friends who rag on teachers all the time too, and I just tell them “okay then smartarse, come into my year 8 class with 30 odd ratty 13-14 year olds, and lets see if you can even last a single hour with them!” That usually shuts them up immediately 😉
    Good luck, you’ll be great! 🙂

    • I love the answer you gave your friends. 🙂 Being someone who used to ask a lot of questions in class, I’ve realized how you would have to be sure that you know what you’re going to teach, that you can answer whatever question might come up. Or you’ll end up making a fool of yourself. I totally agree with your thought that one should be able to do it AND teach it, in order to teach something.
      Thank you for the encouragement, Matt. I might not be the best they (the kids) can get but I’m sure going to put in my best. Tomorrow’s the first day! 🙂

      • Yeah, and there are occasions where I am asking a question I don’t know the answer to, at which point I encourage them to find out for themselves, or, “practise your research skills” hahaha. Sometimes I just admit that I don’t know – I think it’s good for my students to know I’m not a total expert on everything ever, and part of being a teacher involves being a learner at heart as well. They all seem to think I’m some kind of freak genius anyway, because I can teach multiple and wildly different subjects (namely English, History & Geography, and Maths, which really throws them). It’s all fun! 😛
        You’ll be great – teaching is all about attitude, as the right attitude is often infectious. If you want to be there and do your best, that is the best the kids can ask for! 🙂

  3. People who say that about teaching wouldn’t last 2 minutes in a classroom. Sadly, many people share his opinion of teaching. His ignorance should not dampen your enthusiasm as you embark on this new adventure. Good luck!

    • Thank you. It irritates me when I hear people talk about teaching in this way. Anyway, I started off on the adventure today. 🙂

Voice your opinion :)

