Transcending Trivialities

I miss holidays!

While back to college has caused a spike in my frustration levels, I must say things haven’t been as hectic as it was during last semester. I suppose the real action is yet to start. I don’t think I’m looking forward to it, though.

Well…there is a thought that has been stuck in my mind for the past few months. I felt it’s time I let it out. And, with yesterday’s Charlie Hebdo terror attack serving as background, I think this would be a good time.

[ Before reading on, please note that I’m talking specifically with reference to the situation in India, as I know it ] 

Once, sometime in November, during class, one of our teachers somehow came upon the topic of Muslims. I don’t remember what exactly we were discussing. Initially, she said she wouldn’t say anything but, when some of the students (my classmates) ventured to comment (negatively), she added to it, expressing her dislike for Muslims. A few of my classmates agreed with her, reacting very vehemently, much to my shock. They almost ganged upon another classmate who questioned their bias. I kept quiet, listening to their argument. From the way they spoke, it seemed like they held Muslims responsible for every shit that happens in the world. I was dumbstruck.

For a bunch of individuals who are going to be media professionals sometime soon, this kind of strong prejudice could be lethal. The most shocking part, for me, was that the teacher supported their thoughts instead of pointing out how wrong it was. It might already be obvious that I have very high regard for teachers. Nevertheless, I don’t believe in giving respect to people who don’t deserve it. This particular lecturer’s comments had an instant effect on me – I began to dislike her from that very second! In another class, she gave some more absurd views about family planning. That was the final nail in the coffin!

But that’s not the topic of this post.

Just a cursory glance through the major events of last few months would show you how Muslims have been collectively victimized for most of them, if not all. Of course, there are terrorist organizations wreaking havoc in ways more than one. And they seem to be blinded by their religious fanaticism. But is that reason enough to hate Muslims as a whole? Because that’s what seems to be happening right now. I’m not justifying the ones who caused death and destruction; don’t go on and call me a traitor. I’m raising the question of why we seem to blame ALL Muslims for whatever is happening. If you were to commit a mistake, would your entire family, including distant relatives and friends, be persecuted for it?

What is the sense in alienating persons of a whole community/religion just because some fanatics acted in the name of that religion? Haven’t other faiths also had such people who killed and ravaged? Did we also treat every individual of those religions with equal hatred? I doubt it.

I don’t support terrorists or their activities. Neither do I support denigrating anyone based on their beliefs. Like a close friend once mentioned, however well-educated a person might be, every bit of sense goes out the window if the topic of religion comes up. For a race which is considered highly intelligent and superior, I find it really contemptible that we fight over religion and borders. Especially considering the fact that both were created by man!

As of now, all I can do is hope that people (my classmates and lecturer included) start thinking and acting more sensibly. Maybe, someday soon, we’ll see a world with men who look beyond details like one’s faith and nationality.

 

5 thoughts on “Transcending Trivialities

  1. I feel like we’re stuck in a historical period… it’s not WWII but it is definitely some kind of war on a global level happening on many different platforms.

    Teachers aren’t supposed to express their own views. Here, they’re not even allowed to do that in elementary and high school, and in university they only do so if asked by students (and even then they have to be very careful and diplomatic). That teacher of yours misused her position of authority, allowing her students to feel encouraged in their negative views… hate breeds hate, and eventually the whole world may go blind.

    • About the teacher, rightly said!
      At this rate, I don’t know how long we’ll have before people fight themselves to extinction.

  2. I liked your article very much and I am completely against the teacher here..
    I don’t think that’s what the society expects from a teacher !! (My personal opinion)

    About the topic, in a nutshell – its a whole propaganda..!!!
    Creating “Islamophobia” for corporate benefits and a lot more.. There is a lot to think, ponder and discuss on this!! Tired of stereotyping Muslims to “terrorists” !!
    I came across a really beautiful article once, hope you like it..

    http://qz.com/329404/a-muslim-finally-has-the-apology-the-world-has-been-waiting-for/

    • Hi Samjoth, I agree that this is a serious issue which needs to be pondered over. I’m trying to do what I can by speaking out like this. 🙂 And, I loved the article you mentioned.
      Thanks for dropping by.

      • My pleasure 🙂
        Speak out, that’s the least we can do !!
        And I invite you to my space, when you have your time !!
        See you around 🙂

Voice your opinion :)

