Missing Bloggers

You put in so much of your time and effort into something that means nothing but boring work to you, and instead of a word of appreciation, all you get is rebuke! Sounds familiar? Well, I’m going through a similar situation at college and it’s frustrating. It has been going on for so long that I feel sick just thinking of the whole episode. This entire month has been depressingΒ to the extreme. Big-time-BAD start to 2015, I say! I hope things get better soon! *Fingers crossed*

Anyway, my Facebook page tells me I haven’t posted in 11 days. I thought it was time I did something about that. And, here I am!

Sometime last month, I read a post by my blogger-friend, Manu Kurup, saying he intended to stop blogging. He said it would be his last post. And, sure enough, it was. He has deleted his site.Β He might have had his own reasons, although I don’t know what they were. Nevertheless, his post came as nothing less than a shock to me.

I don’t remember how I stumbled onto his blog but, well, someday, I did. I wasn’t a regular reader but I made it a point to catch up on his posts whenever possible. His writing style and thoughts were what I loved the most. We might have been strangers, on a personal level. But there is something very intimate and special about a person’s writing, reading what someone else has written. It’s kind of like getting a glimpse of their mind, a reflection of their perceptions. Perhaps, that is why I feel/felt a sense of belonging with all my fellow bloggers, including Manu.

When I read his final post, I was gripped by an emotion that I can only describe as “loss”. Something akin to what I’d feel if I were meeting a friend for the last time. While I do miss his blogposts, the experience opened my eyes to a fact I had never bothered to look at. Just like we take people for granted in life, I’ve been stupid enough to think that my readers and fellow bloggers will always remain the same. I never considered the possibility that they could also leave or fade off. Now that I’ve (almost) resumed regular blogging, I notice the absence of many blogger-friends who used to comment and support me. And I miss them all!

Anyhow, for those who have still hung around, this is a confession-plus-apology of sorts, to let you know I’ll try not to repeat the mistake! Keep hanging around! πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “Missing Bloggers

  1. I know the feeling! There was a big group of us all who started around 3 or so years ago, but so many of those people whose blogs I followed in those early days have disappeared. Some have stopped blogging (whether by decision or by abandonment), while others have disappeared completely off all social media and stuff, which is even sadder when I realise I can’t talk to them at all anymore. It does feel like a loss, that’s for sure.
    But, there is still a lot of us left. Some people seem to be blogging stronger than ever. My blogging is very up and down, but I have realised I will probably keep blogging for a very long time to come. I need to write, and blogging is a good way to do that and connect with awesome people!
    Besides, us veteran bloggers need to hang around to encourage the newbies, right? πŸ˜‰

    • Haha! Loved the last line!
      The fact that there’s still a lot of us left is what keeps me going, knowing that there might be others out there who’d like the stuff I write and whose posts I might enjoy. It’s always fun to keep exploring. πŸ™‚
      I’m glad you stuck around, Matt! Always great to see a familiar face!

  2. This is life. People walk into your life, walkout and even disappear. Some leave their mark, some don’t. Some change you, you change some. Things take a turn for the worse and things also take turn for the best. And then there are some assols to add to it πŸ˜‰ . But things always happen for a reason and that, a good one. πŸ™‚

    • Great words coming from a pessimist! I know it’s a part of life, but then, I also believe these seemingly normal incidents could provoke us to think and, maybe, learn something from them. πŸ™‚

      PS: Thank you for dropping by and taking the time to comment. πŸ˜›

  3. You are so right !! This blogging world is beautiful !!
    I started my blog just to vent out my thoughts and to be a little “creative” but now I feel happy to be here.This world has been so very kind to me.Beautiful friends I have got,the friendly gestures and everything feels so much like a gang.
    I spend a very little time here, as I am a hell of a lazy gene; πŸ™‚ but i am happy reading others, getting to know them, their response to my comments etc.
    I am happy and proud to be here..!!

    • Hey, that’s how I started off my blog, too – because I had a lot of thoughts that needed to be vented. And, even I have been lazy, lately. Hope I snap out of it soon! I can imagine how overwhelming the response must be to you, I felt the same way! Anyway, welcome to the blogspace. Have fun!

      • Great to know that a lot many people feel the same like me !! πŸ™‚
        And laziness is a default in me..
        Have to tame myself, before it takes over me !! πŸ˜€
        You do keep writing,
        there are a lot many people to read,
        including me !!
        Be creative,
        and let the words flow πŸ™‚

Voice your opinion :)

